Garfield County Humanitarian Service Awards

The Garfield County Human Services Commission and the Board of County Commissioners host the Garfield County Humanitarian Service Awards annually. Now in its 27th year, awards will be given at the awards dinner April 3, at the Grand River Hospital Ballroom in Rifle. Several awards are given each year.

Humanitarian Service Awards logo
When: April 3, 2017 at 5:30 pm
Where: Ballroom of Grand River Hospital

Nominees for the 2017 awards

Sandi Anderson
Samuel Bernal
Larry Bernat
Hilda Cheek
Jamie Darien
Merle Detweiler
Ana Mirtha Flores
Ramona Jaeger
Lynn Kirchner
Crystal Mariscal
Jan McNutt
Garry Millard and Diana Blanco-Poveda (Mountain Family Health Centers Dental)
Chandra Starr
Alexandra Yajko
Karen Zavala
June Zeinstra
Nominations are closed for the 2017 Humanitarian Service Awards.

Dinner reservations
This event sells out. Each nominee is only guaranteed one table for eight. Tickets are sold on a first-come-first-served basis. Please buy your tickets early.

Please call 970-458-8059.

This event is not a fundraiser for any agency, Garfield County, or the Human Services Commission. For nearly 30 years, the awards dinner has honored residents of Garfield County for their selfless contributions to make our community an ever-more vibrant, diverse, caring, sustainable, supportive and safe place to live, work and play.

Past inductees
Humanitarian Service Awards 2016 from Garfield County on Vimeo.
1989-2016 winners-|

2016 winners


Human Service Awards began: 1989

To recognize outstanding volunteer and community efforts in Garfield County

Who may be nominated? Anyone, of any age, who has performed selfless acts for the good of the community.

Who may nominate: Anyone who has observed someone contributing to the welfare of Garfield County residents.

Categories: Youth, adult and senior volunteer, staff member. The committee may create more categories to fit extraordinary humanitarian efforts.

When IS the nomination period? January 27 through February 24, 2017

NOTE: Any previous winner of a Garfield County Humanitarian Service Award is ineligible for nomination. Nominees who were not category winners are eligible for re-nomination.
1989-2016 winners

Garfield County Human Services Commission
PO Box 1548
Glenwood Springs, CO  81602

970-319-3723 | phone

privacy policy