Motor vehicle registration
Register vehicles, order renewal license plates and access driver’s license resources through the State of Colorado from this page.
The Clerk and Recorder’s office is open to motor vehicle customers on a daily basis from 8:30 am to noon and 1:30 to 4:30 pm.
Register a new vehicle
You must register your vehicle in the county where you live and/or where the vehicle is used or stored.
Colorado vehicle purchase
Colorado is a title-issuing state. A title is required to transfer ownership of a vehicle. Dealerships are required to supply all necessary documents. Private sellers should provide a title to you. Proof of insurance is required prior to issuance of any registration.
Out-of-state vehicle purchase (non-Colorado title)
The following documents are required:
- Properly signed title. Notarization may be required.
- Disclosure of purchase price.
- VIN verification – obtain from Colorado auto dealerships or law enforcement agencies.
- Proof of current insurance
Keep Colorado Wild pass
Keep Colorado Wild pass
In 2023, Colorado residents can get a $29 Keep Colorado Wild Pass during annual vehicle registration through the Division of Motor Vehicles.
The pass supports:
- State parks
- Search and rescue teams
- Avalanche safety programs
- Wildlife conservation
- Accessible outdoor opportunities
Rifle Gap, Harvey Gap and Rifle Falls are all state parks in Garfield County.
Driver’s license services
Click the button below then click the middle tab when you arrive on the page.
Sales and use tax
Applicable sales and/or use tax is collected upon titling a vehicle. Garfield County residents are required to pay a 2.9% state sales tax and 1% county sales tax if your vehicle was purchased in Garfield County. Additionally, city or district sales and/or use tax may be applicable. Tax is collected on the net selling price of each vehicle.
License plate regulations
Licensing fees are based on the year, weight, value, class of the vehicle, and the area in which you live.
Colorado license plates are issued for a 12-month period from the date of the original expiration. The tab affixed to the lower left corner of the plate indicates the month of expiration and the tab in the lower right corner indicates the year of expiration. Renewal fees are due in the month and year indicated, although a one-month grace period is provided by law.
Temporary permits are paper license plates which allow the licensee to drive a vehicle while the title and registration paperwork is being processed. Issuance of additional permits is at the County Clerk's discretion. The permit fee is $7.03, plus any applicable sales/use tax. Starting March 1, 2023, a late fee is assessed if registration is not completed prior to the expiration of the temporary permit. Proof of insurance is required prior to issuance, along with secure and verifiable identification.
We accept cash, checks, money orders, and credit card payments (2.7% fee).