CSU air emissions study presentation at Energy Advisory Board

Citizen appointed to board and officers elected

March 3, 2014

GARFIELD COUNTY, CO – Dr. Jeffrey Collett, PhD., Professor in the Department of Atmospheric Science at Colorado State University (CSU), will present an overview of an ongoing CSU study of air emissions from gas wells in Garfield County Thursday to the Garfield County Energy Advisory Board (EAB) and the community.

The presentation, “Characterizing air emissions from new gas well development in Garfield County,” will provide an overview of CSU’s study of emissions of air toxins, ozone precursors, and methane during development of new gas wells in Garfield County.

The EAB meeting is March 6, from 5:30 to 8 pm at the Parachute Library, 244 Grand Valley Way. Citizens are welcome to attend. Dinner and social time begin at 5:30 pm. The meeting begins at 6 pm. At a recent EAB meeting, Howard Orona was elected chair of the Energy Advisory Board, Scott Stewart was elected Vice Chair, and Don Simpson was elected Secretary. Garfield County Commissioners appointed Kurt Grimm of Silt as the new citizen representative for the Dry Hollow Creek area. The EAB is seeking a citizen representative for the Una Bridge/Wallace Creek/Spring Creek area. County residents in this area interested in participating on the EAB are encouraged to apply. Applications are available at https://www.garfield-county.com/oil-gas.

The EAB reports to the Garfield County Commissioners, and was created to provide a forum for the public, the oil and gas industry, landowners and local government to engage in positive and proactive communication and actions that encourage responsible and balanced development of energy resources in Garfield County.