County Commissioners ban fireworks use in unincorporated Garfield County for balance of 2020

June 16, 2020

On May 18, 2020 Board of County Commissioners adopted Ordinance 2020-1 Prohibiting the Use of Fireworks in Unincorporated Garfield County for one year excluding May 31 thru July 5. On Monday June 15, 2020, the Garfield County Board of County Commissioners banned the ignition/setting-off of all fireworks with an additional Resolution prohibiting the use of fireworks in unincorporated Garfield County from Monday June 15, 2020 through Sunday July 5, 2020.

This restriction applies to all private citizens. All commercial vendors who may be planning or have been hired for a fireworks display anywhere in unincorporated Garfield County must receive approval from their local fire districts. Unincorporated Garfield County, by definition, refers to all lands outside of municipal boundaries.

Individuals should seek guidance from the municipalities in which they reside, regarding the use of fireworks within city limits.

These decisions were made considering the rapidly drying fuel sources, due to the high temperatures and high winds recently experienced recently in Garfield County; in conjunction with the limited availability of resources to fight an expanding fire.

The COVID 19 Pandemic has necessitated extra precautions for the 2020 season. We appreciate your understanding and cooperation during these extreme times.

Leave a reply