Fee – $30
All marriage licenses are being conducted on an appointment-only basis. No same-day appointments are being taken. Plan ahead and schedule your marriage license appointment if you plan on getting married within the next 35 days. Contact the clerk’s office at (970) 384-3700, ext. 1830 or 1770, in Glenwood Springs, or (970) 625-0882, ext. 1858, in Rifle.
Once an appointment is scheduled, both parties should come to the clerk’s office at 109 8th Street, Suite 200, (Glenwood Springs Courthouse), Glenwood Springs, Colorado, or to the Rifle Annex at 195 West 14th Street, Building D, Rifle, Colorado. If it is impossible for one party to be present, a notarized affidavit can be requested for the absent party.
Proof of age is required, which may be verified by a drivers license, birth certificate, passport, or other acceptable identification.
If the applicant is under the age of 18, a court order allowing the marriage must be obtained prior to issuance of the license.
If the applicant has been divorced for less than 6 months, we need a copy of the signed final divorce decree. If the applicant has been divorced for longer than six months, we need to know the date of the divorce, the court in which the divorce was finalized, and the location of the court.
The marriage license must be used in the state of Colorado.
Certificates are good for 35 days upon issuance.
Common law marriage affidavits may be recorded at the normal fee.
Request for Certified Marriage License forms
Application for a certified copy of a marriage license (PDF)
Application for a certified copy of a marriage license (DOC)
Solicitud para copias de matrimonio certificadas (PDF)
Solicitud para copias de matrimonio certificadas (DOC)
For additional information, please call 970-384-3700 to contact Garfield County Clerk/Registrar Jean Alberico, or the deputy registrar.