newspage on cellphone

Garfield County drought disaster

Garfield County Public Health
195 West 14th Street, Rifle, CO 81650
2014 Blake Avenue, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601

Garfield County fleet cars
July 5, 2013

Federal government declares drought disaster for 38 Colorado counties

DENVER - Wednesday, July 3, 2013 - Gov. John Hickenlooper was notified today by U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack that 14 counties qualify for federal disaster relief because of drought conditions. Fourteen counties were declared primary natural disaster areas due to a recent drought and an additional 24 were declared as contiguous disaster counties.

The primary counties are Alamosa, Conejos, Delta, Garfield, Gunnison, Jackson, Jefferson, Mesa, Moffat, Montrose, Rio Blanco, Rio Grande, Routt and Saguache. The contiguous counties are Adams, Arapahoe, Archuleta, Boulder, Broomfield, Chaffee, Clear Creek, Costilla, Custer, Denver, Douglas, Eagle, Fremont, Gilpin, Grand, Hinsdale, Huerfano, Larimer, Mineral, Ouray, Park, Pitkin, San Miguel and Teller.

The federal disaster relief includes Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans. Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for emergency loan assistance. FSA will consider each emergency loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of production losses, security available and repayment ability. Local FSA offices can provide farmers with more information.

Media contact:
Renelle Lott
Chief Communications Officer
Garfield County
108 8th Street, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601
970.366.2275 cell

Garfield County Administration
108 8th Street, Suite 101
Glenwood Springs, CO  81601

970-945-5004 | phone
970-945-7785 | fax

privacy policy